Press releases

List is filtered with:

reset filter

For the period of 2020 to 2024, Dr. Gudrun Auffermann has been elected Equal Opportunity Commissioner and Renate Hempel-Weber (Physics of Quantum Materials) has been elected Deputy. We congratulate and wish all the best for the exercise of this important office. more

Traditionally, the quantum Hall effect has exclusive been associated with two-dimensional metals. Now, scientists at the MPI CPfS found signatures of an unconventional Hall response in the quantum limit of the bulk metal HfTe5, adjacent to the three-dimensional quantum Hall effect of a single electron band at low magnetic fields. more

The intricate interplay of band-formation and electron correlation effects in uranium heavy fermion compounds is subject of an ongoing debate. Here scientists from MPI CPfS in Dresden, University of Cologne, University of Erlangen, Heidelberg University, University of California at San Diego, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Institute of Low Temperature & Structure Research in Wroclaw, Van-der-Waals-Zeeman Institute in Amsterdam, and the German Synchrotron in Hamburg (PETRA-III/DESY) gained new and unexpected insight from advanced spectroscopies on isostructural members of the UM2Si2 family with different properties. more

Johannes Gooth, Leiter der unabhängigen Max-Planck-Forschungsgruppe „Nanostrukturierte Quantenmaterie“ am MPI für Chemische Physik fester Stoffe in Dresden, erhält den Rudolf-Kaiser-Preis für den „erstmaligen experimentellen Nachweis sowie die weitergehende Charakterisierung der axialen Gravitations-Anomalie in Weyl-Halbmetallen“. more

Researchers demonstrate new high-throughput method for discovering magnetic topology more

Chiral crystals that have a distinct handedness have recently emerged as one of  the most exciting new classes of topological materials. An international research team from institutions in Germany, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and China has now demonstrated that their crystal handedness directly determines how quasiparticles propagate and scatter at impurities in such materials. The study, published in the journal Nature Communications, represents a significant advance towards novel chiral electronic devices. more

In topological materials, electrons can display behaviour that is fundamentally different from that in ‘conventional’ matter, and the magnitude of many such ‘exotic’ phenomena is directly proportional to an entity known as the Chern number. New experiments establish for the first time that the theoretically predicted maximum Chern number can be reached — and controlled — in a real material. more

Electrons in “chiral crystals”, solid-state materials with definite “handedness”, can behave in unexpected ways. An interdisciplinary team from research institutions in Germany and China has realized now a theoretically predicted peculiar electronic state in a chiral compound, PtGa, from the class of topological materials. The study which was published in the journal Nature Communications allows a fundamental understanding of the electronic properties of this novel semimetal. more

An outstanding collaboration combines materials science, experimental and theoretical physics. The work paves the way to new designed materials that combine in them multiple electrical functionalities. more

Go to Editor View