Winner of the 2019 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials

October 26, 2018

The James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials is awarded annually to recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in the science and application of new materials. This includes the discovery of new classes of materials, the observation of novel phenomena in known materials leading to both fundamentally new applications and scientific insights, as well as theoretical and experimental work contributing significantly to the understanding of such phenomena. This prize was established in 1997 and is endowed by IBM and the APS Division of Materials Physics.

Dr. Claudia Felser receives the award "for the theoretical prediction, design and realization of non-magnetic and magnetic topological semi-metals and new types of topological insulators." She shares the 2019  James C. McGroddy Prize with Bogdan Andrei Bernevig (Princeton University) and Xi Dai (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology).


Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View