Press Release: Tantalum Phosphide – Resistivity Behavior Unraveled

May 27, 2016

Scientists from the Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids succeeded to uncover the mysterious resistivity behavior of the semimetal tantalum phosphide (TaP) in high magnetic fields. TaP and its closely related compounds tantalum arsenide and niobium phosphide and arsenide belong to a new group of metals, so called Weyl semimetals. Like ordinary semimetals, e.g. graphite or bismuth, these metals are characterized by extremely fast moving electrons. Their Weyl electrons are classified into two groups according to their direction of propagation and magnetism. Electrons from one of these groups appear as the mirror image of electron from the other group like left and right hand. This so-called chirality of the electron is predicted to lead to a vanishing resistance in these materials if a strong magnetic field is applied parallel to the electrical current.

However, in their article, F. Arnold and C. Shekhar et al. showed, that the observed negative magnetoresistance in TaP is not caused by chiral electrons, but by a magnetic field driven focusing of electrons, producing an electron jet.

The successful collaboration of theorists and experimentalists from within the institute and the Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems under supervision of Dr. Binghai Yan and Dr. Elena Hassinger managed to unveil the electronic structure of TaP by measuring magnetization and resistivity oscillations at high magnetic fields and temperatures close to absolute zero. These so called quantum oscillations are a fingerprint of the electronic structure of a metal. In combination with additional calculations, electrical properties such as the type and density of charge carriers can be derived from these oscillations. This information enabled the scientists to show that TaP does not host any chiral electrons. Thus alternative explanations for the mysterious magnetoresistance were searched for. It was shown that a magnetic field driven electron jet, which is commonly observed in materials with high electron velocities, is responsible for this anomaly. Its presence was proven by the different resistivity behaviors of two voltage contact pairs in a parallel magnetic field.

The team from Dresden is now trying to tailor the electronic structure of TaP such, that chiral electrons become observable. This can be done e.g. by partially replacing P in TaP with other materials like arsenic or silicon. In case of success this would be the first realization of massless chiral particles since their prediction by Hermann Weyl in 1929 [1].

[1] Weyl, H. Zeitschrift Physik 56, 330–352 (1929)

FA / CPfS

Figure 1. A) shows the electronic structure of TaP. Electrons moving along the blue and red Fermi surfaces generate the magnetic torque and resistivity oscillations of B) and C). D) depicts the magnetoresistance of TaP for two different voltage contact pairs. The magnetoresistance is calculated as MR = (V(B)-V(0))/V(0). Whilst the resistance measured at the electron jet (V2) strongly increases, its counterpart at the samples surface (V1) drops quickly.

Go to Editor View

Pressemeldung: Tantalphosphid – Widerstandsverhalten entschlüsselt

27. Mai 2016

Wissenschaftlern am Max-Planck Institut für Chemische Physik fester Stoffe ist es gelungen, das rätselhafte Widerstandsverhalten des Halbmetalls Tantalphosphid (TaP) in hohen Magnetfeldern zu erklären. TaP und seine Schwesterverbindungen Tantalarsenid und Niobphosphid und -aresnid gehören zu einer Gruppe neuartiger Metalle, sogeannter Weyl-Halbmetalle. Ähnlich wie im Halbmetall Graphit gibt es in diesen Materialien sogenannte Weyl-Elektronen, die sich mit extrem hoher Geschwindigkeit durch das Material bewegen. Diese Weyl-Elektronen lassen sich anhand ihrer Bewegungsrichtung und ihres Magnetismus in zwei Gruppen einteilen. Hierbei erscheinen Elektronen der einen Gruppe als Spiegelbild der anderen, wie etwa die rechte und die linke Hand. Diese sogenannte Chiralität der Elektronen führt nun theoretisch zu einem verschwindenden Widerstand, wenn hohe Magnetfelder parallel zum Strom angelegt werden.

F. Arnold und C. Shekhar et al. konnten in ihrem Artikel nun zeigen, dass der beobachtbare negative Magnetowiderstand in TaP jedoch nicht durch chirale Elektronen, sondern durch einen vom Magnetfeld gebündelten Strahl aus Elektronen hervorgerufen wird.

Durch die erfolgreiche Kollaboration theoretischer und experimenteller Forscher des Instituts unter der Leitung von Dr. Binghai Yan und Dr. Elena Hassinger mit Forschern des Max-Planck Instituts für Physik komplexer Systeme ist es gelungen, die elektronischen Zustände von TaP zu ergründen. Dazu wurden Magnetisierungs- und Widerstandsoszillationen in hohen Magnetfeldern nahe dem absoluten Temperaturnullpunkt gemessen. Diese sogenannten Quantenoszillationen sind ein Fingerabdruck der elektronischen Struktur eines Metalls und lassen mit Hilfe der Rechnungen Rückschlüsse über die Art und Anzahl von Ladungsträgern in einem Material zu. Dank dieser Informationen konnten die Forscher zeigen, dass TaP keine chiralen Elektronen besitzt. Die Wissenschaftler suchten daher nach alternativen Erklärungen für den misteriösen Magnetwiderstand und fanden sie in einem Magnetfeld-getriebenen Elektronenstrahl, der in Materialien mit hohen Elektronengeschwindigkeiten vorkommt, und in der vorliegenden Studie durch das unterschiedliche Verhalten von zwei Spannungskontakt-Paaren sichtbar gemacht wurde.

In neuen Experimenten versuchen die Wissenschaftler nun, die elektronische Struktur von TaP durch Beimischung von anderen Elementen wie Arsen und Silizium so zu beeinflussen, dass die chiralen Eigenschaften der Elektronen sichtbar werden. Dies wäre dann die erste Realisierung von masselosen chiralen Teilchen, wie sie 1929 von Hermann Weyl vorhergesagt wurden [1].

 [1] Weyl, H. Zeitschrift Physik 56, 330–352 (1929)

FA / CPfS

Figure 1. A) Abbildung der elektronischen Zustände in TaP. Elektronen die sich entlang der blauen und roten bananen-förmigen Fermiflächen bewegen erzeugen die magnetischen und Widerstandsozillationen in B) und C) . D) zeigt das ungewöhnliche Widerstandverhalten in TaP. Hierbei berechnet sich der Magnetowiderstand aus MR = (V(B)-V(0))/V(0). Während der Widerstand gemessen im Elektronenstrahl scheinbar steigt (V2), fällt er an der Oberfläche der Probe (V1).

Zur Redakteursansicht