Contributions of the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids to the Yearbook of the Max Planck Society

2018

  • Evidence for Weyl fermions by the local nuclear magnetic resonance techniques

    2018 Baenitz, Michael
    Tantalum has one of the largest quadrupole moments among all elements which makes it a rather useful local probe for excitations of Weyl fermions in the new Weyl semimetal TaP. We found three NQR lines in a good agreement with theoretical calculations including spin orbit coupling. The temperature dependence of the spin lattice relaxation rate is attributed to the magnetic excitations at the Weyl nodes and a good agreement with predictions from theory could be found. The microscopic magnetic resonance techniques therefore provide new insides into the class of Weyl semimetals.

2017

  • The quantum sound of metals

    2017 Hassinger, Elena
    Every musical instrument has its own sound with a frequency spectrum that is determined by the shape of the instrument. In analogy to that, every metal has its characteristic frequency spectrum reflecting the properties of its electrons. Our investigation of the quantum sound of electrons in the metal PdRhO2 shows that electrons move quickly in the crystallographic planes whereas they hardly move perpendicular to the planes. The quantum music sounds slightly differently than expected and will help understand the particular hydrodynamic transport properties of electrons in these metals.

2016

  • Covalence and ionicity in compounds of MgAgAs-type: from concepts to structure prediction

    2016 Wagner, Frank R.; Bende, David; Grin, Yuri
    Analysis of chemical bonding in compounds of the MgAgAs type of structure by bonding indicators in position space resulted in a generalization of the 8­–N rule for bonds of variable polarity. Position-space indicators enable quantification of ionicity and covalence, which was successfully used to explain the different site preference in main-group and transition-metal compounds of the MgAgAs type. On this basis, it was possible to propose promising candidates for new compounds with the MgAgAs structure type, which was subsequently verified for the majority of compounds by laboratory synthesis.

2015

  • Topological Weyl semimetals

    2015 Yan, Binghai; Felser, Claudia
    In recent years, theoretical physicists discovered that the topology of a material can lead to interesting new quantum properties. This simple concept can be applied to the electronic structure of semiconducting materials in which relativistic effects are important. In 2015, several materials like NbP, NbAs, TaP, TaAs, und MoTe2 have been suggested by theoreticians as promissing, so-called Weyl semimetals, and have been physically characterized just a bit later. The special feature is that Weyl fermions, which occur in these materials as quasiparticles, exist in two chiralities.

2014

  • Hunting for the electrical properties of topological insulators

    2014 Höfer, Katharina; Becker, Christoph; Rata, Diana; Swanson, Jesse; Thalmeier, Peter; Tjeng, Liu Hao
    Topological insulators form a novel state of matter that open up new opportunities to create unique quantum particles. Many exciting experiments have been proposed by theory, but still await their experimental verification, not to mention their implementation into applications. The main obstacle is the extrinsic conductivity associated with the unavoidable presence of defects in their bulk, as well as impurities on their surfaces. For Bi2Te3 films it is possible to obtain the desired quality by carrying out the preparation and characterization entirely under ultra-high vacuum conditions.

2013

  • There's life in the old dog yet: discovery of a supercool magnet

    2013 Brando, Manuel; Steppke, Alexander; Küchler, Robert; Lausberg, Stefan; Lengyel, Edit; Steinke, Lucia; Borth, Robert; Lühmann, Thomas; Krellner, Cornelius; Pedrero, Luis; Pfau, Heike; Tencé, Sophie; Rosner, Helge; Nicklas, Michael; Steglich, Frank; Geibel, Christoph

    A ferromagnetic transition at an extremely low temperature of only 0.15 K (−273°C) has been discovered in the compound YbNi4P2. The properties of this phase transition contradict current theoretical predictions and evidence the existence of a ferromagnetic quantum critical point (QCP). The existence of such a QCP has been a matter of discussion as long as 40 years ago, but had been dismissed in the past 15. The search for and the investigation of QCPs is not only a central subject of modern fundamental research, but is also relevant in the development of new technical applications.

  • From palladium to noble metal-free hydrogenation catalysts – intermetallic compounds in catalysis

    2013 Armbrüster, Marc; Kovnir, Kyrill; Friedrich, Matthias; Grin, Yuri

    A knowledge-based concept has proven as efficient strategy for the development of innovative catalysts. Understanding of the crystal structure and the atomic interactions within intermetallic compounds allows for selection of suitable intermetallic compounds as effective hydrogenation catalysts. In contrast to the widely applied trial-and-error approach, the knowledge-based approach is an advantageous alternative, demonstrating the application potential of intermetallic compounds in heterogeneous catalysis.

2012

  • Novel quantum states in metals

    2012 Kirchner, Stefan; Wirth, Steffen; Pfau, Heike; Friedemann, Sven; Stockert, Oliver; Geibel, Christoph; Si, Qimao; Steglich, Frank
    Quantum criticality is currently pursued across many areas of correlated matter. A particular focus is on quantum criticality in itinerant electron systems. It has been shown that the traditional theory of metals breaks down in the vicinity of a novel class of quantum critical points in metals. A better understanding of the physics of these novel quantum states yields new insights into the occurence of magnetism and superconductivity.
  • Topological insulators from a chemical point of view

    2012 Felser, Claudia; Chadov, Stanislav; Müchler, Lukas; Yan, Binghai; Kübler, Jürgen; Zhang, Shou-Cheng1

    Topological insulators (TIs) are a new quantum state of matter, which have attracted interest of condensed matter science. The materials are small band gap insulators with robust gapless surface states. Remarkable is that topological insulators can be predicted by ab initio theory and even understood from a chemist’s perspective. Herein, a simple recipe based on bonds, bands, symmetry, and nuclear charge will be given to motivate a systematic search for new topologically nontrivial materials.

2011

  • Sr3[Co(CN)3] and Ba3[Co(CN)3]: "Simple" compounds with extensive consequences on the chemistry of highly reduced metalates

    2011 Höhn, Peter; Jach, Franziska; Karabiyik, Boris; Agrestini, Stefano; Wagner, Frank-R.; Ruck, Michael; Tjeng, Liu Hao; Kniep, Rüdiger
    The CN ligands in the isotypic compounds Sr3[Co(CN)3] und Ba3[Co(CN)3] have lost their "innocence" by higher reduction and weakening of the C–N bond, for the first time. For cobalt a closed-shell (d10)-configuration was determined. The resulting mesomeric structures of the trigonal-planar complex anions, [Co1–(CN)2(CN)3–]6–, open new insight into the chemistry of metalates and coordination compounds of transition metals with CN ligands. Finally, consequences on the chemistry of carbonylmetalates can be expected, too.
  • Zero resistance by magnetism

    2011 Stockert, Oliver; Arndt, Julia; Jeevan, Hirale S.; Geibel, Christoph; Steglich, Frank
    The question about the origin of unconventional superconductivity is one of the central issues in current condensed matter physics. Within an international collaboration scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids discovered that magnetic interactions are responsible for the Cooper pair formation and hence for the lossless current transport. While in conventional superconductors magnetism is detrimental for superconductivity, magnetism is an essential prerequisite for superconductivity in materials displaying unconventional superconductivity.

2010

  • From alchemy towards quantum dynamics: unravelling the secret of superducting, magnetism and structural instabilities in iron pnictides

    2010 Geibel, Christoph; Jesche, Anton; Kasinathan, Deepa; Krellner, Cornelius; Leithe-Jasper, Andreas; Nicklas, Michael; Rosner, Helge; Schnelle, Walter; Thalmeier, Peter; Borrmann, Horst; Caroca-Canales, Nubia; Kaneko, Koji; Kumar, Manoj; Miclea, Corneliu Florin; Ormeci, Alim; Schmidt, Burkhard; Schwarz, Ulrich
    The relationship between superconductivity, magnetism and structure in the recently discovered Iron-pnictide superconductors is presently one of the hot topics in solid state physics. These compounds are the subject of a broad research program at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, which includes crystal growth, measurements of a large variety of physical properties, up to theoretical calculations and modeling of the electronic properties. This collaborative research resulted in a significant progress in our understanding of the physics in those systems.

2009

  • Hard-X ray photoelectron spectroscopy: New opportunities for chemical and physical analysis

    2009 Tjeng, Liu Hao; Weinen, Jonas
    The department "Physics of correlated Matters" of the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids in Dresden is installing a new spectrometer at the synchrotron research facility Spring8 in Japan to carry out photoemission measurements using hard x-rays. The high kinetic energies of the emitted photoelectrons provide a much increased probing depth, facilitating considerably the use of photoelectron spectroscopy for chemical analysis of a wide range of materials.

2008

  • Magnetic resonance spectroscopy as a local probe: Investigations of structure and magnetism in intermetallic compounds

    2008 Haarmann, Frank; Baenitz, Michael; Brüning, Eva; Geibel, Christoph; Goebel, Thorsten; Jegli¿, Peter; Koch, Katrin; Pecher, Oliver; Rosner, Helge; Steglich, Frank; Grin, Yuri
    The interaction of structure and magnetism of intermetallic compounds depends on the local as well as on the periodic assembly of the atoms. In order to understand the contribution of the local properties investigations by means of appropriate methods are necessary. Nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy seams to by highly suited for this task.

2007

  • New phenomena in strongly correlated electron systems

    2007 Wirth, Steffen; Singh, Surjeet; Capan, Cigdem (Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA); Nicklas, Michael; DiTusa, John F. (Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA); Fisk, Zachary (University of California, Irvine, USA); Steglich, Frank
    Strong electronic correlations in solids may result in fascinating, yet often not fully understood phenomena. The latter include unconventional superconductivity and quantum criticality in heavy fermion metals. Here, magnetotransport measurements may shed light on the impact of antiferromagnetic spin fluctuations on these phenomena. Nonetheless, further detailed experimental and theoretical investigations are required for a more complete comprehension within this emerging field of solid state physics.

2006

  • Cu(II)-Materials – Crystal chemistry meets Magnetism

    2006 Rosner, Helge; Schnelle, Walter; Schmitt, Miriam; Janson, Oleg (St. Petersburg State University, Russland); Gerlach, Sylvia; Schmidt, Marcus; Huang, Ya-Xi; Liu, Wei; Gippius, Andrei (Moscow State University, Russland); Johannes, Michelle Dawn (NRL Washington, USA); Drechsler, Stefan-Ludwig (IFW Dresden); Richter; Johannes (Universität Magdeburg); Kniep, Rüdiger
    Low-dimensional cuprate compounds show a variety of intriguing magnetic properties. We demonstrate that a combination of electronic structure and model calculations together with experimental results and crystal-chemical considerations can provide a deep understanding of this compound family on microscopic grounds.
  • Complexity in the world of intermetallic phases

    2006 Makongo, Julien Pierre Amelie; Burkhardt, Ulrich; Prots, Yurii; Niewa, Rainer; Kreiner, Guido
    Complex metallic alloy phases are intermetallic compounds with prominent features compared to simple metallic systems. They are based on giant unit cells comprising up to more than thousands atoms per cell, hierarchical structures and inherent disorder phenomena. The characteristic features originate from a cluster substructure, which controls short and long range order as well as the physical properties.

2005

  • Filled Skutterudites – Physics and Chemistry of Iron-Antimonides of Alkali, Alkaline-Earth, and Rare-Earth Metals

    2005 Leithe-Jasper, Andreas; Schnelle, Walter; Rosner, Helge; Wirth, Steffen; Sichelschmidt, Jörg; Baenitz, Michael; Gippius, Andrei (Moscow State University, Moskau, Russland); Rabis, Annegrit; Raychaudhuri, Pratap (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Indien); Sheet, Goutam (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Indien); Burkhardt, Ulrich; Borrmann, Horst; Ramlau, Reiner; Mydosh, John A.; Steglich, Frank; Grin, Juri
    Novel ternary intermetallic compounds of iron and antimony with a crystal structure containing large cavities, which can be filled by an electropositive element, show unusual magnetic and thermal properties. A study of the chemical bonding and of the structure-properties relationship is presented.

2004

  • ZrAs1,4Se0,5 – A non-magnetic Kondo system with properties of a normal metal

    2004 Niewa, Rainer; Schmidt, Marcus; Cichorek, Tomasz; Auffermann, Gudrun; Ramlau, Reiner; Prots, Yurii; Schmidt, Ulrike; Völzke, Anja; Schulze, Katja; Burkhardt, Ulrich; Borrmann, Horst; Cardoso-Gil, Raúl; Schnelle, Walter; Schlechte, Andreas; Steglich, Frank; Kniep, Rüdiger
    ThAsSe and UAsSe represent rare examples for non-magnetic Kondo systems. For deeper insight into this behaviour a compound with the same crystal structure type from the chemical system Zr–As–Se was studied extensively in terms of chemical composition, crystal structure and electrical resistivity at low temperatures. The results indicate the unusual behaviour of ZrAs1.4Se0.5 to be connected with dynamical phenomena within the anionic substructure.

2003

  • Quantumphenomena and Superconductivity

    2003 Sparn, Günter; Gegenwart, Philipp; Sichelschmidt, Jörg; Coleman, Piers; Custers, Jeroen; Deppe, Micha; Ferstl, Julia; Geibel, Christoph; Grosche, Friedrich Malte; Neumaier, Karl; Pépin, Catherine; Steglich, Frank; Tokiwa, Yoshifumi; Trovarelli, Octavio; Voevodin, Vladimir; Wilhelm, Heribert; Yuan, Huiqiu
    All developments achieved to date in the fields of medical-, information- and sensor- technology are based on models which are well established in physics and chemistry and which reflect the state of knowledge of fundamental research until the middle of the last century. Further progress, however, seems to be possible only if we learn to understand a new state of condensed matter, which can not be described within the context of the established models. This new state is dominated by quantum phenomena. Quantum phenomena come into play, when spatial dimensions become smaller than the wavelength of light (nano-technology) or when extremely strong correlations build up among the electrons of the solid (Quantum Hall Effect, Collossal Magnetoresistance, High Temperature Superconductivity (HTSC)). Here we report two outstanding discoveries which could be particularly important for the understanding of the HTSC. At the heart of the description of HTSC lies the assumption that superconductivity is created by coupling the charge carriers via magnetic fluctuations. In CeCu2Si2, a compound whose properties are related to those of HTSC, we not only have found hints towards the existence of a magnetic coupling mechanism but furthermore, for the first time, have been able to collect evidence for the existence of an additional, completely new coupling mechanism. The second discovery concerns the physical properties of a strongly correlated electron system (YbRh2Si2) in the vicinity of the magnetic quantum critical point. In YbRh2Si2 the strongly interacting charge carriers can not be treated within the concept of weakly interacting heavy quasi particles, as it is successfully done in heavy electron metals away from quantum criticality. In contrast to hitherto models, the quasiparticles in YbRh2Si2 seem to disintegrate into a charge part (current) and a spin part (magnetism) when approaching the quantum critical point.
Go to Editor View

Beiträge des MPI CPfS aus dem Jahrbuch der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

2018

  • Erstmaliger Nachweis von Weyl-Fermionen mittels kernmagnetischer Resonanz

    2018 Baenitz, Michael
    Aufgrund des großen Kernquadrupolmoments von Tantal gelang erstmals der Nachweis von Weyl-Fermionen im Übergangsmetall-Monopniktid TaP mit Hilfe von kernmagnetischer Resonanz. Es wurden drei Tantal-Resonanzlinien experimentell nachgewiesen. Die Linien konnten theoretisch unter Einbeziehung der Spin-Bahn-Wechselwirkung berechnet werden. Es gelang es uns ferner, die theoretische Vorhersage für die Temperaturabhängigkeit der Spin-Gitter-Relaxation erstmals im Experiment zu bestätigen. Die lokale Resonanztechnik eröffnet somit neue Einblicke in die exotische Materialklasse der Weyl-Halbmetalle.

2017

  • Elektronische Quantenmusik

    2017 Hassinger, Elena
    Jedes Musikinstrument hat seinen eigenen Klang, dessen Frequenzspektrum durch die Form des Instruments zustandekommt. Ähnlich dazu existiert auch in jedem Metall ein charakteristisches Frequenzspektrum, das die Eigenschaften der Elektronen darin widerspiegelt. Unsere Studie des Quantensounds der Elektronen in dem Metall PdRhO2 zeigt, dass diese sich in den Kristallebenen erstaunlich schnell, senkrecht dazu aber sehr schlecht bewegen. Die elektronische Quantenmusik klingt etwas anders als erwartet und hilft uns, die besonderen Transporteigenschaften dieser Metalle zu verstehen

2016

  • Kovalenz und Ionizität in Verbindungen mit MgAgAs-Struktur: Von Konzepten zur Strukturvorhersage

    2016 Wagner, Frank R.; Bende, David; Grin, Yuri
    Die Analyse der chemischen Bindung in Verbindungen vom MgAgAs-Typ mittels chemischer Bindungsindikatoren im Ortsraum führte zu einer Verallgemeinerung der 8–N-Regel für Wechselwirkungen beliebiger Polarität. Ortsraum-Indikatoren ermöglichen eine Quantifizierung von Ionizität und Kovalenz, die zur Erklärung der unterschiedlichen Lage-Präferenz in Hauptgruppen- und Übergangsmetallverbindungen vom MgAgAs-Typ beitragen. Auf dieser Basis konnten aussichtsreiche Kandidaten für neue Verbindungen vom MgAgAs-Typ vorgeschlagen werden, die mehrheitlich durch Präparation bestätigt wurden.

2015

  • Topologische Weyl-Semimetalle

    2015 Yan, Binghai; Felser, Claudia
    Vor wenigen Jahren fanden theoretische Physiker heraus, dass die Topologie eines Materials zu neuen Quanteneigenschaften führen kann. Dieses einfache Konzept lässt sich auf die elektronische Struktur von halbleitenden Materialien anwenden, in denen relativistische Effekte wichtig sind. 2015 wurden verschiedene Materialien wie NbP, NbAs, TaP, TaAs und MoTe2 als vielversprechende, sogenannte Weyl-Semimetalle theoretisch vorhergesagt und daraufhin physikalisch untersucht. Das Besondere ist, dass Weyl-Fermionen, die in diesen Materialien als Quasiteilchen auftreten, in zwei Chiralitäten vorkommen.

2014

  • Den elektrischen Eigenschaften topologischer Isolatoren auf der Spur

    2014 Höfer, Katharina; Becker, Christoph; Rata, Diana; Swanson, Jesse; Thalmeier, Peter; Tjeng, Liu Hao
    Mit der Entdeckung der topologischen Isolatoren wurden neue Wege zur Erzeugung einzigartiger Quantenteilchen eröffnet. Theoretiker haben viele spannende Experimente vorgeschlagen. Deren experimentelle Prüfung steht allerdings noch aus, ganz zu schweigen von Anwendungen. Das Haupthindernis ist die zusätzliche Leitfähigkeit, bedingt durch unvermeidbare Kristalldefekte sowie die Verunreinigung der Oberflächen. Für dünne Schichten von Bi2Te3 ist jedoch die nötige Qualität erreichbar, wenn die Herstellung und besonders die gesamte Charakterisierung im Ultrahochvakuum stattfinden.

2013

  • Totgeglaubte leben länger: Die Entdeckung eines supercoolen Magneten

    2013 Brando, Manuel; Steppke, Alexander; Küchler, Robert; Lausberg, Stefan; Lengyel, Edit; Steinke, Lucia; Borth, Robert; Lühmann, Thomas; Krellner, Cornelius; Pedrero, Luis; Pfau, Heike; Tencé, Sophie; Rosner, Helge; Nicklas, Michael; Steglich, Frank; Geibel, Christoph

    In der Verbindung YbNi4P2 wurde ein ferromagnetischer Phasenübergang bei einer extrem niedrigen Ordnungstemperatur von nur 0,15 K (−273°C) entdeckt. Die Eigenschaften dieses Phasenübergangs stehen im Widerspruch zu gängigen Theorien und belegen die Existenz eines ferromagnetischen Quantenkritischen Punktes. Dieser wurde bereits vor fast 40 Jahren diskutiert, seine Existenz galt aber in den letzten 15 Jahren als ausgeschlossen. Die Untersuchung von quantenkritischen Punkten ist nicht nur ein zentrales Thema der modernen Grundlagenforschung, sondern auch für technische Anwendungen relevant.

  • Vom Palladium zum edelmetallfreien Hydrierkatalysator – intermetallische Verbindungen in der Katalyse

    2013 Armbrüster, Marc; Kovnir, Kyrill; Friedrich, Matthias; Grin, Yuri

    Ein wissensbasiertes Konzept hat sich als effiziente Strategie zur Entwicklung innovativer Katalysatormaterialien erwiesen. Das Verständnis der Kristallstrukturen und der atomaren Wechselwirkungen der intermetallischen Verbindungen erlaubt die Auswahl geeigneter intermetallischer Verbindungen als effektive Katalysatoren. Im Gegensatz zum weit verbreiteten trial-and-error-Ansatz stellt die wissensbasierte Entwicklung eine vorteilhafte Alternative dar, die das Anwendungspotenzial intermetallischer Verbindungen in der heterogenen Katalyse aufzeigt.

2012

  • Neuartige Quantenzustände in Metallen

    2012 Kirchner, Stefan; Wirth, Steffen; Pfau, Heike; Friedemann, Sven; Stockert, Oliver; Geibel, Christoph; Si, Qimao; Steglich, Frank
    Quantenphasenübergänge sind zentraler Gegenstand der aktuellen Festkörperforschung. Insbesondere quantenkritische Punkte in metallischen Systemen sind bisher nur unvollständig verstanden. Wie sich zeigt, versagt die traditionelle Theorie der Metalle in der Nähe einer neuartigen Klasse von quantenkritischen Punkten. Ein tieferes Verständnis der Physik dieser neuartigen Quantenzustände liefert wertvolle neue Einsichten in das Auftreten von Magnetismus und Supraleitung in komplexen Materialien.
  • Topologische Isolatoren aus chemischer Sicht

    2012 Felser, Claudia; Chadov, Stanislav; Müchler, Lukas; Yan, Binghai; Kübler, Jürgen; Zhang, Shou-Cheng1
    Topologische Isolatoren (TIs), Materialien mit einem neuen Quantenzustand, sind ein hochaktuelles Thema in der Festkörperforschung. TIs sind Halbleiter mit kleinen Bandlücken, aber mit stabilen metallischen Oberflächenzuständen. Bemerkenswert ist, dass sich topologische Isolatoren durch ab initio Berechnungen hervorsagbar und über chemische Konzepte identifizierbar sind. Eine systematische Suche nach neuen topologischen Isolatoren ist durch unser einfaches Rezept, basierend auf Bindungen, Bandstrukturen, Symmetrien, Orbitalen und Kernladungen, möglich.

2011

  • Sr3[Co(CN)3] und Ba3[Co(CN)3]: „Einfache“ Verbindungen mit weitreichenden Auswirkungen auf die Chemie stark reduzierter Metallate

    2011 Höhn, Peter; Jach, Franziska; Karabiyik, Boris; Agrestini, Stefano; Wagner, Frank-R.; Ruck, Michael; Tjeng, Liu Hao; Kniep, Rüdiger
    In den isotypen Verbindungen Sr3[Co(CN)3] und Ba3[Co(CN)3] hat der CN-Ligand durch stärkere Reduktion und damit verbundene Bindungsschwächung erstmals seine "Unschuld" verloren. Für Cobalt wird eine geschlossenschalige (d10)-Konfiguration bestimmt. Die damit resultierenden mesomeren Grenzformeln für das trigonal-planare komplexe Anion, [Co1–(CN)2(CN)3–]6–, eröffnen eine neue Sicht auf die Chemie der Übergangsmetalle mit CN-Liganden. Schließlich sind auch Auswirkungen auf die Chemie der Carbonylmetallate zu erwarten.
  • Widerstandslos dank Magnetismus

    2011 Stockert, Oliver; Arndt, Julia; Jeevan, Hirale S.; Geibel, Christoph; Steglich, Frank
    Die Frage nach der Ursache für unkonventionelle Supraleitung ist eine der zentralen Fragen in der aktuellen Festkörperphysik. Wissenschaftler vom Max-Planck-Institut für chemische Physik fester Stoffe haben in einer internationalen Zusammenarbeit herausgefunden, dass magnetische Wechselwirkungen für die Bildung von Cooper-Paaren und somit für den verlustfreien Stromtransport verantwortlich sind. Während in klassischen Supraleitern Magnetismus schädlich ist für die Supraleitung, ist Magnetismus für die Supraleitung in Materialen mit unkonventioneller Supraleitung unabdingbare Voraussetzung.

2010

  • Von der Alchimie zur Quantendynamik: Auf der Spur von Supraleitung, Magnetismus und struktureller Instabilität in den Eisenpniktiden

    2010 Geibel, Christoph; Jesche, Anton; Kasinathan, Deepa; Krellner, Cornelius; Leithe-Jasper, Andreas; Nicklas, Michael; Rosner, Helge; Schnelle, Walter; Thalmeier, Peter; Borrmann, Horst; Caroca-Canales, Nubia; Kaneko, Koji; Kumar, Manoj; Miclea, Corneliu Florin; Ormeci, Alim; Schmidt, Burkhard; Schwarz, Ulrich
    Der Zusammenhang zwischen Supraleitung, Magnetismus und Struktur in den kürzlich entdeckten Eisenpniktid-Supraleitern ist derzeit eines der heißesten Themen in der Festkörperphysik. Am Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Physik fester Stoffe werden diese Materialien auf vielfältige Art untersucht, angefangen bei der Züchtung von Einkristallen, über Messungen zahlreicher physikalischer Eigenschaften, bis zu theoretischen Berechnungen und Modellierung ihrer elektronischen Zustände. Diese Zusammenarbeit hat bereits zu grundlegenden Erkenntnissen über die Physik dieser Systeme geführt.

2009

  • Harte Röntgen-Photoelektronenspektroskopie: neue Möglichkeiten für die chemische und physikalische Analyse

    2009 Tjeng, Liu Hao; Weinen, Jonas
    Forscher des Forschungsbereichs „Physik korrelierter Materie“ am Max-Planck-Institut für chemische Physik fester Stoffe in Dresden bauen ein neues Spektrometer an der Synchrotron-Forschungseinrichtung Spring8 in Japan auf, um Photoemissonsmessungen mit harter Röntgenstrahlung durchzuführen. Aufgrund der hohen kinetischen Energien der emittierten Photoelektronen wird eine größere Untersuchungstiefe der Proben ermöglicht, weshalb diese Technik der Photoelektronenspektroskopie für die Chemische Analyse für viele Materialien interessant ist.

2008

  • Kernspin-Resonanz-Spektroskopie als lokale Sonde: Untersuchungen zu Struktur und Magnetismus intermetallischer Phasen

    2008 Haarmann, Frank; Baenitz, Michael; Brüning, Eva; Geibel, Christoph; Goebel, Thorsten; Jegli¿, Peter; Koch, Katrin; Pecher, Oliver; Rosner, Helge; Steglich, Frank; Grin, Yuri
    Das Zusammenspiel von Struktur und Magnetismus intermetallischer Phasen ist von der lokalen sowie der periodischen Anordnung der Atome abhängig. Zur Entwicklung für ein Verständnis des lokalen Beitrags ist es von zentraler Bedeutung, diesen mit geeigneten Methoden zu untersuchen. Die Kernspin-Resonanz-Spektroskopie (NMR) erscheint hierfür bestens geeignet.

2007

  • Neue Phänomene durch stark wechselwirkende Elektronen

    2007 Wirth, Steffen; Singh, Surjeet; Capan, Cigdem (Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA); Nicklas, Michael; DiTusa, John F. (Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA); Fisk, Zachary (University of California, Irvine, USA); Steglich, Frank
    Starke Wechselwirkungen zwischen Elektronen in Festkörpern können zu interessanten, oft aber unvollständig verstandenen Phänomenen, wie etwa unkonventionelle Supraleitung und quantenkritisches Verhalten in Schwere-Fermionen-Metallen, führen. Obwohl Messungen des Magnetotransportes wichtige Hinweise auf den Einfluss antiferromagnetischer Spin-Fluktuationen auf die genannten Phänomene geben können, werden zum tieferen Verständnis umfassende experimentelle und theoretische Untersuchungen benötigt.

2006

  • Cu(II)-Verbindungen im Zusammenspiel von Kristallchemie und Magnetismus

    2006 Rosner, Helge; Schnelle, Walter; Schmitt, Miriam; Janson, Oleg (St. Petersburg State University, Russland); Gerlach, Sylvia; Schmidt, Marcus; Huang, Ya-Xi; Liu, Wei; Gippius, Andrei (Moscow State University, Russland); Johannes, Michelle Dawn (NRL Washington, USA); Drechsler, Stefan-Ludwig (IFW Dresden); Richter; Johannes (Universität Magdeburg); Kniep, Rüdiger
    Niedrigdimensionale Cupratverbindungen zeigen eine Vielzahl faszinierender magnetischer Eigenschaften. Es wird demonstriert, wie die Kombination von Elektronenstruktur- und Modellrechnungen, experimentellen Ergebnissen und kristallchemischen Aspekten ein grundlegendes Verständnis dieser Substanzklasse auf mikroskopischer Grundlage liefern kann.
  • Komplexität in der Welt intermetallischer Phasen

    2006 Makongo, Julien Pierre Amelie; Burkhardt, Ulrich; Prots, Yurii; Niewa, Rainer; Kreiner, Guido
    Komplexe Intermetallische Phasen sind Verbindungen mit Merkmalen, die sie von einfachen Metallen unterscheiden. Große Elementarzellen mit teilweise mehr als tausend Atomen, ein hierarchisch strukturierter Aufbau und inhärente Fehlordnung sind wesentliche Charakteristika. Verursacht wird all dies durch eine Cluster-Substruktur, die sowohl Nahordnung, Fernordnung als auch das physikalische Verhalten prägt.

2005

  • Gefüllte Skutterudite – Physik und Chemie von Eisen-Antimoniden der Alkali-, Erdalkali- und Seltenerd-Metalle

    2005 Leithe-Jasper, Andreas; Schnelle, Walter; Rosner, Helge; Wirth, Steffen; Sichelschmidt, Jörg; Baenitz, Michael; Gippius, Andrei (Moscow State University, Moskau, Russland); Rabis, Annegrit; Raychaudhuri, Pratap (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Indien); Sheet, Goutam (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Indien); Burkhardt, Ulrich; Borrmann, Horst; Ramlau, Reiner; Mydosh, John A.; Steglich, Frank; Grin, Juri
    Neuartige ternäre intermetallische Verbindungen von Eisen und Antimon, in deren Kristallstruktur große, mit elektropositiven Elementen besetzbare Hohlräume existieren, zeigen ungewöhnliche magnetische und thermische Eigenschaften. Eine Untersuchung der chemischen Bindung und der Struktur-Eigenschafts-Beziehungen wird vorgestellt.

2004

  • ZrAs1,4Se0,5 – Ein nicht-magnetisches Kondo-System mit den Eigenschaften eines einfachen Metalls

    2004 Niewa, Rainer; Schmidt, Marcus; Cichorek, Tomasz; Auffermann, Gudrun; Ramlau, Reiner; Prots, Yurii; Schmidt, Ulrike; Völzke, Anja; Schulze, Katja; Burkhardt, Ulrich; Borrmann, Horst; Cardoso-Gil, Raúl; Schnelle, Walter; Schlechte, Andreas; Steglich, Frank; Kniep, Rüdiger
    ThAsSe und UAsSe zählen zu den wenigen Beispielen für Verbindungen mit nicht-magnetischem Kondo-Effekt. Zum besseren Verständnis dieses Verhaltens wurden an einer im gleichen Strukturtyp kristallisierenden Verbindung des Systems Zr–As–Se aufwändige Untersuchungen zur chemischen Zusammensetzung, Kristallstruktur und elektrischem Widerstand bei tiefen Temperaturen durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse lassen vermuten, dass das ungewöhnliche Verhalten von ZrAs1,4Se0,5 auf dynamischen Phänomenen in der Anionenteilstruktur beruhen könnte.

2003

  • Quantenphänomene und Supraleitung

    2003 Sparn, Günter; Gegenwart, Philipp; Sichelschmidt, Jörg; Coleman, Piers; Custers, Jeroen; Deppe, Micha; Ferstl, Julia; Geibel, Christoph; Grosche, Friedrich Malte; Neumaier, Karl; Pépin, Catherine; Steglich, Frank; Tokiwa, Yoshifumi; Trovarelli, Octavio; Voevodin, Vladimir; Wilhelm, Heribert; Yuan, Huiqiu
    Die bis heute in der Medizin-, Informations- und Sensortechnik erzielten Entwicklungen beruhen alle auf Modellen, welche in der Physik und der Chemie wohletabliert sind und deren Kenntnisstand die Ergebnisse der Grundlagenforschung bis zur Mitte des letzten Jahrhunderts widerspiegelt. Weitere Fortschritte scheinen aber nur dann möglich zu sein, wenn wir einen neuen, weitgehend unbekannten Zustand der kondensierten Materie verstehen lernen, dessen Eigenschaften sich nicht im Rahmen dieser etablierten Modelle beschreiben lassen. Dieser neue Zustand wird durch Quantenphänomene dominiert. Quantenphänomene spielen immer dort eine Rolle, wo räumliche Dimensionen unter die Wellenlänge des Lichts fallen (Nanotechnologie) oder extrem starke Korrelationen im Elektronensystem des Festkörpers auftreten (Quanten-Halleffekt, Kolossaler Magnetwiderstand, Hochtemperatur-Supraleitung). Im Berichtszeitraum haben wir zwei herausragende Entdeckungen gemacht, welche auch für das Verständnis der Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter von entscheidender Bedeutung sein könnten. Bei der Beschreibung der Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter geht man bisher davon aus, dass die Supraleitung durch eine Kopplung der Ladungsträger an magnetische Fluktuationen erzeugt wird. In einem zu den Hochtemperatur-Supraleitern verwandten System (CeCu2Si2) haben wir erstmals neben Hinweisen auf die Existenz eines magnetischen Kopplungsmechanismus auch Hinweise auf die Existenz eines völlig neuartigen Kopplungsmechanismus erhalten. Die zweite Entdeckung stammt aus detaillierten Untersuchungen der physikalischen Eigenschaften von Metallen nahe an dem für die Supraleitung bedeutenden magnetischen quantenkritischen Punkt. Unsere Beobachtungen an der Verbindung YbRh2Si2 legen den Schluss nahe, dass die stark wechselwirkenden Ladungsträger nicht mehr als unabhängige Quasiteilchen aufgefasst werden können. Vielmehr scheinen in diesem System die nach der bisherigen Vorstellung extrem langlebigen Quasiteilchen bei Annäherung an einen magnetischen quantenkritischen Punkt in einen Ladungs- (Strom) und in einen Spinanteil (Magnetismus) zu zerfallen.
Zur Redakteursansicht